Search RPD Archives
Limit search to: Subject & Body Subject Author
Sort by:

[AfriNIC-rpd] Nominations call for the PDWG Co-Chair (2012-2013)

Kris Seeburn kseeburn at
Fri Apr 13 09:55:48 UTC 2012

Hi SM,

Yes actually you are right, it should be two years. I will request a fix
on this asap.

Thanks as usual.


On 13/4/12 1:42 PM, "SM" <sm at> wrote:

>Hi Kris,
>At 02:19 13-04-2012, Kris Seeburn wrote:
>>As per the current policy the two co-chairs are selected by the community
>>you are right. Only thing is that one is elected for a two year term and
>>the second is on a one year term.
>I gather that you are referring to Section 4 of AFPUB-2010-GEN-005:
>   "The Policy Development Working Group has two Chairs to perform the
>    administrative functions of the group. The Working Group Chairs will
>    be chosen by the AfriNIC community during the Public Policy Meeting
>    and they will serve staggered two-year terms. The term ends during the
>    first Public Policy Meeting meeting corresponding to the end of the
>    term for which they were appointed. A term may begin or end no sooner
>    than the first day of the Public Policy Meeting and no later than the
>    last day of the Public Policy Meeting as determined by the mutual
>    agreement of the current Chair and the new Chair.
>    As a special case for the two Working Group Chairs appointed when this
>    policy first takes effect, one of the Chairs will be appointed for a
>    two-year term, and the other Chair will be appointed for a one-year
>I assumed that the text was clear given the past discussions about
>it.  McTim's term was for one year based on the second paragraph.  It
>is a one-off case which is no longer applicable.  After the last
>round of elections, the first paragraph takes effects for the terms
>of the Chairs.

More information about the RPD mailing list