Search RPD Archives
Limit search to: Subject & Body Subject Author
Sort by:

[AfriNIC-rpd] Nominations call for the PDWG Co-Chair (2012-2013)

SM sm at
Fri Apr 13 09:42:29 UTC 2012

Hi Kris,
At 02:19 13-04-2012, Kris Seeburn wrote:
>As per the current policy the two co-chairs are selected by the community
>you are right. Only thing is that one is elected for a two year term and
>the second is on a one year term.

I gather that you are referring to Section 4 of AFPUB-2010-GEN-005:

   "The Policy Development Working Group has two Chairs to perform the
    administrative functions of the group. The Working Group Chairs will
    be chosen by the AfriNIC community during the Public Policy Meeting
    and they will serve staggered two-year terms. The term ends during the
    first Public Policy Meeting meeting corresponding to the end of the
    term for which they were appointed. A term may begin or end no sooner
    than the first day of the Public Policy Meeting and no later than the
    last day of the Public Policy Meeting as determined by the mutual
    agreement of the current Chair and the new Chair.

    As a special case for the two Working Group Chairs appointed when this
    policy first takes effect, one of the Chairs will be appointed for a
    two-year term, and the other Chair will be appointed for a one-year term."

I assumed that the text was clear given the past discussions about 
it.  McTim's term was for one year based on the second paragraph.  It 
is a one-off case which is no longer applicable.  After the last 
round of elections, the first paragraph takes effects for the terms 
of the Chairs.


More information about the RPD mailing list