Search RPD Archives
Limit search to: Subject & Body Subject Author
Sort by:

[AfriNIC-rpd] Appointment of Interim Co-Chairs on the PDWG

Viv Padayatchy viv.padayatchy at
Fri Nov 26 11:26:20 UTC 2010

Dear all

Please refer to the board communiqué issued on the RPD on the 24th November
2010 (see below).

At the opening of the Policy Discussion session on the 24th Nov the AfriNIC
Board proposed that Subramanian Moonesamy and Dr. Paulos Nyirenda should be
the new interim co-chairs for the PD Working Group or PDWG (formerly known
as PDP-MG).

Mr. S. Moonesamy accepted the appointment and Dr. Paulos Nyirenda declined.
S. Moonesamy then nominated Alan Barrett as the second co-chair.  Alan
Barrett accepted, subject to the condition that the appointment be approved
by the community. The Chairman of the Board of Directors of AfriNIC
determined that it was the consensus of
the AfriNIC community present during that meeting that S. Moonesamy and Alan
Barrett should act as interim co-chairs for a 6-month period or until the
AfriNIC-14 meeting, whichever is the earliest.

I would like to thank Mr. S. Moonesamy and Alan Barrett for their
contribution and welcome them as Interim Co-Chairs of the PDWG.

Dr. Viv Padayatchy

-----Original Message-----
From: rpd-bounces at [mailto:rpd-bounces at] On Behalf Of
Viv Padayatchy
Sent: 24 November 2010 09:35
To: 'AfriNIC Resource Policy Discussion List'
Subject: [AfriNIC-rpd] Communiqué from the Board of Afrinic

Communiqué from the Board of Afrinic

1. The board has taken note of the ongoing discussion on the RPD mailing
list related to the implementation of AFPUB-2010-GEN-005. The Board would
like to clarify that there is no reason at this point not to start
implementing the policy. 

2. However, the board understands that there is not enough time to organize
a fair election process at this meeting (afrinic 13). Therefore the Board
hereby suggests that the current PDP-MG be wound-up at the beginning of the
Afrinic-13 Policy Discussion and appoint an Interim Co-chairs for a period
of 6 months or until Afrinic-14, whichever is earlier, in order to allow
proper election to take place. 

3. The board is also proposing that two members of the current PDP-MG,
Subramania Moonesamy and Dr. Paulos Nyirenda be co-opted in view of their
current experience in order to allow a smooth transition and Policy
Development Process. 

Dr. Viv Padayatchy

rpd mailing list
rpd at

More information about the RPD mailing list