[AFRINIC-Announce] 2020/21 ICANN Board Seat 9 Elections: Comment Phase Open

AFRINIC Communication comms at afrinic.net
Tue Dec 22 15:01:34 UTC 2020

[Sent on behalf of the ASO AC]

21 DECEMBER 2020

Dear colleagues,

In line with the ICANN Address Supporting Organization (ASO) Memorandum of Understanding (MoU)[1] and the ICANN Bylaws[2], the Address Supporting Organization Address Council (ASO AC) has issued a call for nominations for Seat 9 of the ICANN Board of Directors.

The selected candidate will serve for a three-year term, which will begin at the conclusion of the ICANN Annual General Assembly during the ICANN 72 Meeting, scheduled from 23-28 October 2021 in Seattle, USA.

Following a call for candidates, the ASO AC is pleased to announce that the following candidates have been nominated (sorted by their first name):

Alan Barrett - https://aso.icann.org/alan-barrett-2021-icann-board-seat-9/
Johan Helsingius - https://aso.icann.org/johan-helsingius-2021-icann-board-seat-9/
Kemly Camacho Jímenez - https://aso.icann.org/kemly-camacho-2021-icann-board-seat-9/
Margarita Valdes - https://aso.icann.org/margarita-valdes-2021-icann-board-seat-9/
Nigel Titley - https://aso.icann.org/nigel-titley-2021-icann-board-seat-9/
Patrick W. Gilmore - https://aso.icann.org/patrick-w-gilmore-2021-icann-board-seat-9/
Peter Thimmesch - https://aso.icann.org/peter-thimmesch-2021-icann-seat-9-nominee/
Ron da Silva - https://aso.icann.org/ron-da-silva-2021-icann-board-seat-9/
Sean Kennedy - https://aso.icann.org/sean-kennedy-2021-icann-board-seat-9/
Wafa Zaafouri - https://aso.icann.org/wafa-zaafouri-2021-icann-board-seat-9/

Comment Phase
The comment phase will begin on 21 December 2020 and will end at 23.59 UTC on 30 March 2021. Comments can be submitted for candidates by clicking on the link next to their name above and adding a comment to their biography.

Please note that, as per section 9.4.5 of the ASO AC Operating Procedures[3], all comments will be moderated by the ASO Secretariat prior to being published on the ASO website.

For more information on the ICANN Board of Directors Seat 9 election process, please go to https://aso.icann.org/icann-board/icann-board-elections/2021-icann-board-of-directors-seat-9-elections/

[1] ICANN Address Supporting Organization (ASO) MoU

[2] ICANN Bylaws:

[3] ASO AC Operating Procedures

More information about the Announce mailing list