[AFRINIC-Announce] AFRINIC Elects New Directors, NRO-NC members and PDWG Co-chairs

AFRINIC Communication comm-announce at afrinic.net
Fri Jun 10 14:46:54 UTC 2016

Dear Colleagues,

As a result of the Elections for Board seats that took place on Thursday 09 June 2016 during the Annual General Members' Meeting (AGMM) in Gaborone, we are pleased to announce the appointment of the following candidates to the AFRINIC Board:
	•  Western Africa:   Sunday Folayan (Nigeria)
	•  Northern Africa:   Haitham Z. El Nakhal  (Egypt)
	•  Non geographical: Seun Ojedeji (Nigeria)
The new Board members will serve for a term of three years from 1 July 2016 to 30 June 2019. We congratulate the new Board Members and wish them success in their new roles.

Additionally, election was held on Wednesday 08 June for one PDWG co-chair position, and Sami Salih from Sudan was re-elected to serve an additional 2 year term (until June 2018). During the same Policy Development Working Group meeting, Seun Ojedeji resigned and Dewole Ajao was appointed to complete the remainder of Seun Ojedeji's term as PDWG co-chair (until June 2017).

An election to elect the AFRINIC region representative to the ASO-AC / NRO-NC was also held on Thursday 09 June and Omo Oaiya was elected to serve a 3 year term from January 2017 to December 2019, replacing Fiona Asonga whose term will be ending at the end of 2016.

We would like to thank all the candidates who stood for the various positions, as well as all the outgoing individuals. Their interest to serve the community is highly appreciated.

AFRINIC Communication

More information about the Announce mailing list