[AfrICANN-discuss] Fwd: ICANN News Alert -- Formation of the Coordination Group

Seun Ojedeji seun.ojedeji at gmail.com
Fri Jul 4 05:57:32 SAST 2014


sent from Google nexus 4
kindly excuse brevity and typos.
---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: "ICANN News Alert" <communications at icann.org>
Date: 4 Jul 2014 00:28
Subject: ICANN News Alert -- Formation of the Coordination Group
To: <seun.ojedeji at gmail.com>

  [image: ICANN] <http://www.icann.org/> News Alert

Formation of the Coordination Group

3 July 2014

On 14 March 2014, the NTIA announced its intention to transition its
stewardship role of IANA functions, and called upon ICANN to launch and
facilitate a process with the community to derive a proposal to transition
the IANA functions to the global multistakeholder community, meeting the
criteria set out by NTIA.

Following community consultation, the process
<http://www.icann.org/resources/pages/process-next-steps-2014-06-06-en> for
developing a proposal for this transition was posted on 6 June 2014. As
part for this process, a Coordination Group will be responsible for
preparing a transitional proposal respective of the differing needs of the
various affected parties of the IANA functions.

The Coordination Group is comprised of the individuals nominated by each
represented community. These 27 individuals represent 13 communities of
both direct and indirect stakeholders.

Communities represented in the Coordination Group were urged to launch
internal processes to select their representatives, and submit those
nominations to ICANN by *23:59 UTC on 2 July 2014* through a provided
form <https://forms.icann.org/en/icg>.

*As of 20:00 UTC, confirmed Coordination Group Representatives are:*
 *ASO* Hartmut Glaser  *GNSO* Wolf-Ulrich Knoben  *GNSO* Milton Mueller  *gTLD
Registries* Keith Drazek  *gTLD Registries* Jon Nevett  *ICC/BASIS* Joseph
Alhadeff  *IAB* Russ Housley  *IAB* Lynn St Armour  *IETF* Jari Arkko
*IETF* Alissa Cooper  *ISOC* Narelle Clark  *ISOC* Demi Getschko  *NRO* Adiel
Akplogan  *NRO* Paul Wilson  *RSSAC* Daniel Karrenberg  *RSSAC* Lars-Johan
Liman  *SSAC* Patrik Fälström  *SSAC* Russ Mundy

*Pending are the submissions from the ccNSO, the GAC, the ALAC, and a final
representative for GNSO.*

An additional list of the nominated Coordination Group representatives can
be found here
This list will be updated as outstanding nominations are received and

The first face-to-face meeting of the Coordination Group will occur in
London on 17-18 July 2014 at the Hilton London Metropole Hotel.

The meeting of the Coordination Group will be streamed live
<https://icann.adobeconnect.com/coordinationgroup/> and simultaneously
translated into the five UN languages plus Portuguese. In addition,
relevant transcripts and recordings will also be posted to the NTIA IANA
Functions' Stewardship Transition website.

 This message was sent to seun.ojedeji at gmail.com from:

ICANN News Alert | communications at icann.org | ICANN | 12025 Waterfront
Drive Suite 300 | Los Angeles, CA 90094-2536

Email Marketing by [image: iContact - Try It Free!]
    Manage Your Subscription
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: https://lists.afrinic.net/pipermail/africann/attachments/20140704/f7fbcd0a/attachment.htm

More information about the AfrICANN mailing list