Eric M.K Osiakwan emko at internetresearch.com.gh
Tue May 26 17:31:34 SAST 2009

The development where we honour heroes in their life time is  
outstanding and extremely remarkable.

Congratulations to Nii for the foresight and to Adiel for exceptional  
leadership of our time.

The honorees Alain Aina, Alan Barret, Ayitey Bulley, Sunday Folayan,  
Mark Tinka, Randy Bush and Hon. Tarek Kamel, stand tall in the hall of  
dedicated service to the African continent.

A continent that does not honour her heroes is not worth dying for.

Eric here

On 26 May 2009, at 13:15, Anne-Rachel Inné wrote:

> Felicitations Adiel et bravo ncore pour tous tes efforts.
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> Accra, Ghana, 19 May 2009 - The African Network Operators Group  
> (AfNOG) has
> awarded Internet engineer Adiel A. Akplogan the first Network  
> Information
> Infrastructure (Nii) Service Award for 2009 for his contribution in
> establishing the very successful African Internet Numbers Registry,  
> AfriNIC,
> and for his leadership and service to the African technical community.
> AfNOG presented the Award during its 10th anniversary meeting held  
> in Cairo,
> Egypt.
> "Adiel Akplogan has selflessly worked to establish AfriNIC and worked
> tirelessly to grow the membership, improve use of number resources  
> and built
> an active technical community in Africa. This has resulted in the  
> growth of
> a more robust Internet in Africa and developed an active technical  
> community
> of LIRs developing policies appropriate for the region. This has  
> enabled
> development of numerous applications throughout  Africa impacting  
> education,
> health and commerce in a notable way" said Nii Quaynor, Convener of  
> whom the Award is named after. Nii himself received the Internet  
> Society's
> prestigious Jonathan Postel Award in 2007.
> Adiel continues to provide leadership in the numbers registry  
> community and
> has been a strong African voice in several global technical fora.
> Adiel A. Akplogan is the Chief Executive Officer of AfriNIC Ltd., the
> Internet Numbers' Resource Registry for Africa since 2004. With more  
> than 15
> years experience in the Internet Technology environment, he has  
> previously
> worked as New Technology Director at CAFENet (an IT service company  
> based in
> Togo - 1994-2000), then as IT Director of Symbol Technologies in  
> France
> (2001-2003). He has served as member of the UN Secretary General  
> Internet
> Governance Forum Advisors Group since (2006-2009), and  the OIF
> (Organisation Internationale de la Francophonie) group of Expert on  
> Internet
> Governance since 1999. He has served in the African Technical Advisory
> Committee of the United Nation Economic Commission for Africa (ATAC/ 
> from 2005-2006. Mr. Akplogan is current Chair of the NRO Executive  
> Council
> (Number Resource Organization - www.nro.net) and was involved with the
> setting up of several technical coordination bodies in Africa such  
> as the
> African Network Operators Group (AfNOG) where he serves as a member  
> of the
> Administrative committee and the African ccTLD Managers Association  
> (AfTLD).
> Adiel is an Electrical Engineer and holds a M.Sc. in E-Business and  
> New
> Technology Management.
> About Network Information Infrastructure (Nii) Service Award
> The Nii Service award has been established by AfNOG at its 10th  
> anniversary
> to honor those who have made outstanding contributions in service to  
> the
> Internet community in Africa. The focus is on continued substantial
> technical contributions and service to the community. We place  
> particular
> emphasis on leadership through mentoring of young engineers. The  
> award will
> be given annually at AfNOG meetings
> About AfNOG
> The Africa Network Operators Group is a forum for the exchange of  
> technical
> information, and aims to promote discussion of implementation issues  
> that
> require community cooperation through coordination and cooperation  
> among
> network service providers to ensure the stability of service to end  
> users
> Other awards were also given to AfNOG instructors who had made  
> significant
> contributions to the community. The honorees included Alain Aina, Alan
> Barret, Ayitey Bulley, Sunday Folayan,  Mark Tinka and Randy Bush. A  
> special
> award was also given to Hon Tarek Kamel, Minister of Communications of
> Republic of Egypt who had been a long time contributor in the  
> technical
> community in Africa and hosted the 10th anniversary meeting of AfNOG
> Contact AfNOG at :
> Nancy Dotse,
> Coordinator, AfNOG Secretariat
> 16 Boundary Road, East Legon
> P.O Box 3035, Accra, Ghana
> Phone: +233 277 552 308
> Fax: +233 21 521 696
> Email: sec at afnog.org
> _______________________________________________
> afnog mailing list
> http://afnog.org/mailman/listinfo/afnog  
> _______________________________________________
> AfrICANN mailing list
> AfrICANN at afrinic.net
> https://lists.afrinic.net/mailman/listinfo.cgi/africann

Eric M.K Osiakwan
Internet Research
emko at internetresearch.com.gh
42 Ring Road Central, Accra-North
Tel: +233.21.258800 ext 7031
Fax: +233.21.258811
Cell: +233.24.4386792

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: https://lists.afrinic.net/pipermail/africann/attachments/20090526/009500d1/attachment-0001.htm

More information about the AfrICANN mailing list